Kerri, with a K

trying to be me

On the Hunt

Leave a comment

I’ve been officially out of work for about a month, and it’s stressful.  I’m enjoying the time at home, although the mountain of laundry still doesn’t seem to be going anywhere, no matter how much I do.  But the job search is tedious and frustrating.

I am eligible for unemployment, and I’ve been doing everything I’m required to do as far as looking for work goes just so I can receive those benefits.  I even found myself a part time job that hasn’t started yet, but allegedly will soon.

The frustration comes from interviewing and being told that I’m overqualified, or I don’t meet their exact needs, or sometimes I don’t even get an response.  No constructive criticism, no ideas on how I can make my next interview better.

Most of the jobs I’ve been applying for have been in customer service and banking.  The most frequent response I’ve gotten in reply to those interviews have been “I’m sorry, but your credit does not meet our requirements.”

::I’m sorry if I’m working to get out of debt.  I’m sorry if my not-all-that-bad credit score makes me a bad person.  It also means that apparently I am more likely to steal than say a person who has a history with stealing which therefore does not qualify me for a job.  But I digress::

So now I’m looking into administration, receptionist, and assistant work.  We’ll see how it goes.

Oh, and not to mention I’ve been looking for more freelance writing work just as a little extra income.  And that hunt has also not been so easy.  I’ll get there.  It’ll take time, but I’ll get there.

Author: Kerri with a K

Kerri. 30. TV-obsessed. Blogger. Wannabe special agent. Mom-extraordinaire. Just a little of this and a little of that.

Leave a Reply

