Kerri, with a K

trying to be me

Newsletter: Month One (or six weeks and one day)

Leave a comment

Dear Logan,

You turned a month old on July 11.  Today you are 6 weeks and one day.  Yes, my son.  I was slacking.  But mostly because this idea didn’t come to me until I was driving you around to your doctor’s appointment and to pick up daddy from work. 

I can’t believe how quickly time is flying by.  One day, you were this little ninja kicking inside my stomach, then causing me pain as you were born, and now here you are, 12lbs and ready to take over the world.

I’m so proud of the way you are and how hard you work.  You can hold your head up on your own.  Sure, you occasionally head butt me, but that’s just the cost of admission.  Although, you seem to still hate tummy time.  Honestly, I’d hate it too.  That lack of control and not being able to look around at the stuff that’s above your head.  But you’ll get it.  And soon enough you’ll be crawling and we won’t be able to keep you off your belly.

What I love the most is that I can see you start to recognize me.  You can follow me with your eyes, and sometimes you light up when you see my face.  And you smile.  And giggle.  And it’s so amazing.  It’s funny to  watch you do those things in your sleep.  Nothing makes me crack up more than watching you giggle in your sleep.

But then there’s the sad face.  And that pouty lip.  I’m telling you, that lip will be the death of me when you get older.  I don’t like seeing your sad faces but it means your learning expressions and emotions.  And also telling me you’re hungry, or dirty, or need to burp.

Since your birth, you have been to the beach a dozen times, you’ve been to two baseball games, one where you ran the bases with daddy.  You’ve been to your first fireworks show, the bookstore, a farmer’s market, and the grocery store.  Not to mention a few houses of friends who absolutely adored you. And what’s more is that you slept through most of those things. 

You are a GREAT sleeper.  You get that from daddy’s side of the family.  Car rides are easy because you love to sleep in the car.  There have been a few times where the car ride was a little more difficult, but I blame the heat and we were just in the car too long.

And we’ve taken you to church.  We’v been having a hard time trying pick a parish to become a member of, mostly because there was a time that I wanted to only have one church, not six.  But we found a beautiful church that’s close by, and there’s another with a school, so I hope to become members of both. 

You are such a good eater, too.  I was worried for a minute because we couldn’t get the nursing thing down, but now we have a nice system, and you eat like a pig.  I guess that’s why you weigh 12 lbs.  But I won’t complain because your healthy and that’s all I could ever ask for.  I’m dreading the day you get your first fever, but I know we’ll get through it.

I do question, though, if you were really born a frog.  Every time I look over at you, you are in prime position to just hop away.  The FROG LEGS get in the way of changing your diaper or keeping blankets on.  You kick so much that there isn’t a blanket in this world that would stay on while you are kicking.  But when you’re sleeping, the blankets stay in place.  But you don’t.

More often than not, when you wake up in the morning or after a nap, you’ve changed position completely.  I put you down one way, and you squirmed so much that you ended up on the other side of your bassinet.  I guess that’s why you’re my little SQUIRMY WORMY.

Let’s face it, kid, there is nothing you do that isn’t cute.

We left you with a babysitter for the first time last week.  I was sad you weren’t with me, and it was the longest time I have been away from you since you were born.  But daddy and I used the time for a workshop to help with professional development.  You were such a good baby for your babysitter.  You ate and slept, you didn’t fuss or cry.  You made a really good impression.

I’d like to read and sing to you more.  I want you to have an appreciation for music and art and literature, and there’s no time like the present to start, although you probably won’t know what you’re hearing or seeing, someday you will and that’s what I want for you.

Logan, I can’t wait to see what the next month has in store.  So much has happened already, it’s hard to imagine more happening, but at the same time I’m so excited to see what you’ll do next.

Love,
Mommy

Author: Kerri with a K

Kerri. 30. TV-obsessed. Blogger. Wannabe special agent. Mom-extraordinaire. Just a little of this and a little of that.

Leave a Reply

