Kerri, with a K

trying to be me

The Painting Project

Leave a comment

I need to paint.  I need to paint.  I need to paint.

Not in an artistic, finger-painty way.  No.  In a new-house-where-the-previous-owners-painted-everything-puky-brown way.  Everything.  Every.  Thing.  Is.  Brown.  Except the kitchen.  And the bathroom.  But everything else is brown, or sort of a tan-brown color.  And it’s just awful.

But what’s more is that I have no idea what OTHER colors I want to use to change the house.  I’m thinking the problem is that I can’t SEE any other colors because everything is brown.  Yes.  Even the ceiling was painted brown. It’s not the end of the world, but I feel as though I need to whitewash everything.  Clean slate.  Then I can visualize what should go where…

Oh, and there’s this funny 70’s style panelling in the guest room/spare room/music room/office.  But only on one wall.  I have no idea what to do with that.

Hubs and I talked about tearing up the carpet and having hardwood floors.  The thing is, we don’t really know what’s under the carpet just yet. And the carpet is in pretty good shape, so it would be silly to tear it up right away.  I’m hoping there’s salvageable hardwood underneath, but if there’s not, I’m thinking of throwing laminate floors down.  Or at least real wood downstairs and maybe laminate upstairs.

I guess the idea is that we should be making the house our own.  We got some new living room furniture, but there are so many other things on the wishlist, and every time we go to Lowes, there’s something new to add.

I’m looking for advice on how to tackle this whole painting project that needs to be done.  Any ideas?

Author: Kerri with a K

Kerri. 30. TV-obsessed. Blogger. Wannabe special agent. Mom-extraordinaire. Just a little of this and a little of that.

Leave a Reply

