Kerri, with a K

trying to be me

A is for… April Fools

1 Comment

One month.  26 posts.  A to Z.  Check it out here.  And join the challenge.

Ugh.  I can’t begin tell you how much I dislike April Fools Day.  Aside from the fact that the day belongs to my BIL, my puppy, and a childhood friend, Hubs LOVES to play funny practical jokes.  Except sometimes, they just aren’t funny.  Only in a not funny then, funny now sort of way.

Hubs played three successful jokes.  And by successful I mean that he was able to take advantage of my inherent gullibility amazing brilliance.  First, he told me our cat got out.  Grrr.  Tiny is an indoor cat who has been known from time to time to take a walk out the door and onto the front porch.  So this was very believable.  And I’m still shaking my fist at him for this one.

Joke number two was lottery related.  Given that we didn’t win the $640 million, Hubs bought a scratch ticket.  Typically, when we play scratch tickets, the most we ever win is $1 or $2, so we break even.  Hubs told me we won $50.  Yeah, I was excited.  Until he started giggling.  More fist shaking.

And joke number three was just as good and annoying (but don’t tell him about the good part).  The Boy has been trying to climb out his seat for awhile now.  He used to be successful at throwing himself out and faceplanting on the floor.  But then I raised it so he can’t get out.  Except he almost did trying to reach something on the floor.  So, while I was in the kitchen, Hubs told me that the Boy had climbed out of his seat.  Which would not have surprised me if he had.  And I went rushing in the room to see, only to find the Boy playing quietly with a toy I’d just given him.  Am I still fist shaking?  You betcha-by-golly-wow I am.

But in an effort to redeem myself, we called my parents for our big practical joke.  I made my dad get out of bed, so both parents could be on the phone to hear our BIG NEWS.  Dad was assuming our news was that I’m pregnant again.  Which I am not.  And would probably not tell them over the phone anyway.  We DID tell them that Hubs was part of a pool at work that won the lottery, so we had to split that $640 million 14 ways.  Mom was in hysterics with her screaming and yelling.  All dad could ask was if we were going to pay off the house.

Yup.  April Fools!

Also, one of my Facebook friends posted a funny status that was along the lines of:

What if April Fools doesn’t really exist and it’s the longest running practical joke ever?

Love it.

What were your best jokes from April Fools?

Author: Kerri with a K

Kerri. 30. TV-obsessed. Blogger. Wannabe special agent. Mom-extraordinaire. Just a little of this and a little of that.

One thought on “A is for… April Fools

  1. I hate people playing tricks on me – gullible is my middle name! I have a cat called Tiny, too! He’s enormous, needless to say (but he was tiny once, hence the name!) LindaK

Leave a Reply

