Kerri, with a K

trying to be me

F is for… F/18

3 Comments

It’s been all over the news.  It started locally, but wasted no time spreading like wildfire to DC, Baltimore, New Jersey, the Boston, and beyond I’m sure.  But the news was scary, nonetheless.  A Military Jet (F/18) crashed into a local apartment complex in Virginia Beach just after noon today.  The very same apartment complex Hubs and I would drive by going to the beach for the last two summers.  The very same type of jets that flew over our apartment a few miles away where we lived for two years.  Yeah, it’s scary.

And the miracle here is that everyone survived.  There were several people injured, but no one died.  And with a direct hit like that, I’m surprised but happy that no one died.  Today was Good Friday, and I can imagine there were many people that took the day off or left work early, not to mention all the kids that weren’t in school because of April break or Good Friday.  This had the potential to be a much bigger disaster.

Hubs and I talked to lots of different people who were basically saying the same thing: nothing like this has EVER happened before.  EVER.  And the amusing part to everyone is that in December, they were running maneuvers that used this very scenario, one that would help them navigate through the situation where a jet would land anywhere but the Naval Base.

And no.  No one has ever crashed into an apartment complex like this before, in this area.  However, that is not the first crash the Oceana Naval Air Station has seen 25 crashes over the past four decades, the most recent being in 2007 during a practice run for an airshow.  The jet crashed beyond the runway in the woods and the pilot died.  You can read about a few other incidents in our local paper here.

Whether there have been dozens of crashes or none, it’s still scary to think about those jets flying over our apartment, over the beach, day after day, practicing maneuvers, making noise.

I’m not gonna lie.  I don’t miss those jets.  I didn’t mind them when we lived in their air path.  But I certainly didn’t miss them.  And I miss them much less now.

Author: Kerri with a K

Kerri. 30. TV-obsessed. Blogger. Wannabe special agent. Mom-extraordinaire. Just a little of this and a little of that.

3 thoughts on “F is for… F/18

  1. Hello! Stopping by for the A to Z Challenge. Have a wonderful day.

    Susanne
    PUTTING WORDS DOWN ON PAPER

  2. It is scary when this type of thing happens, but it is a blessing that noone died in this incident! I used to live right beside an Air Force Base {I was with someone in the Air Force}, and the jets flew over my house almost everyday! I actually enjoyed hearing them, and I kind of miss those sounds, but I am happy I never had to deal with something like this accident.

    • I used to live by the Oceana AFB that those jets came from, so we used to hear all that jet noise all the time, too. I never minded the noise, but I don’t think I miss it that much. It doesn’t bother me, but it’s nice not having it ALL the time.

      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

